Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Learning Resource Centre: Award Winning Books

Victorian Premier's Literary Awards

An Award For: Australian fiction, non-fiction, drama, young adult and poetry.
The Prize: Category winners receive $20,000 whilst the overall winner receives $100,000 in prize money.

Victorian Prize For Literature & Prize For Fiction

Prize for Young Adult Writing

Prize For Indigenous Writing

People's Choice Awards

Women's Prize


An Award For: The best book in English by a woman throughout the world. 
Previous Winners Include: Zadie Smith, Barbara Kingsolver, Chimamamanda Ngozi Adichie, Kate Grenville  

2020 Winner: 

Miles Franklin Literary Award

An Award For: A novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases. 

The Prize: $60,000

2020 Winner


An Award For: Australian books of a high quality that have sold well at independent bookstores.
Voted by: Australian independent booksellers.

Indies Category Winner – Fiction

The Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

An Award For: distinguished fiction by an American author. 
Previous Winners Include: Donna Tartt, Cormac Mccarthy, Jeffrey Eugenides. 

2020 Winner: 

Prime Minister's Literary Awards 2020

Young Adult Winner

Fiction Prize Winner

Children's Book Council of Australia

An Award For: The best Australian Children's books of the year.
Voted By: The CBCA, a non for profit, volunteer run organisation which aims to engage the community with literature for young Australians.

2020 Book of the Year: Older Readers

Stella Prize

An Award for: Australian women, writing Literary fiction and non-fiction.
The Prize: $50,000.

2021 Winner

Australian Book Industry Awards

An Award for: Australian books of all persuasions.  
Voted by: Australian ‘Book makers’: authors, editors, publishing professionals and retailers.

Gold ABIA for Book of the Year and Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Literary Fiction Book of The Year

International Fiction Book of the Year

Man Booker Prize


An Award For: The Best English Language Book of the Year. 
Voted By: A small panel of judges, that changes each year. 

2020 Man Booker Prize Winners

CILIP Carnegie Medal

An Award For: An outstanding book written in English for children and young people.
Voted By: Librarians from around the UK. 

CILIP Carnegie Medal Winner 2019



          Need Help?

Visit Frequently Asked Questions


    Please Note

           No food is permitted in the LRC, and bags

           must be left outside in your locker.

           Mobile phones are to be kept on silent.  

           Thank you for helping us maintain the LRC

           as a place of quality study and meaningful recreation :)



Monday - Friday
8:00am - 4:15pm


Closed during all assemblies and holidays



+61 03 9864 7742

Home                                 Student Resources
      About      Study Tips
Books & Reading      Research Help
     Award Winning Books      Citation & Referencing
     Library Programs      Copyright & Plagiarism
     Premier's Reading Challenge      Writing & Presentations
     Using The Catalogue Information Literacy
     How To Review FAQs
 Databases Teacher resources

Created by Michelle De Aizpurua