Skip to main content

Learning Resource Centre: Databases

Designed for libraries in Australia and New Zealand, this resource provides the largest collection of full text from leading regional and international newspapers and periodicals, full-text reference books, tens of thousands of full-text biographies, and a collection of images containing more than one million photos, maps, and flags.

Search Explora

The Library Edition is an archive of true to print digital copies of The Age newspaper from 2006. This collection enables users to find articles, photographs, advertisements, classified or cartoons just as they were printed.

Search The Age Archive

ClickView Online provides access to the schools ClickView collection. It is the MacRob AV library of TV and Foxtel programs, DVD's, movies, pod casts and school produced videos, which have been collected to support your learning.

The Macquarie Dictionary was first published in print in 1981 and has been online since 2003.  Its reputation has gone from strength to strength and it is now nationally and internationally regarded as the standard reference on Australian English. Etymologies, pronunciation guides and daily words are included. The words included in the Macquarie Dictionary range from the colloquial to the technical in a range of fields.

Search The Macquarie Dictionary

Britannica School covers the core subject areas of English, Maths, Science and History.

Informational text selections are written, edited, reviewed, and updated regularly by the world’s leading content experts. Thousands of new articles, images, and multimedia elements are added every quarter.

Search Britannica School

First published in 1956, New Scientist is a weekly science and technology magazine read by 778,593 people worldwide each week. Featuring a selection of the latest news stories from the worlds of science and technology, alongside in-depth features exploring the latest ideas that affect the world and how we understand it, reviews of the latest culturally relevant books, films or art and stunning imagery from around the world and beyond.

Search The New Scientist

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (revised 2011), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. 

Search Oxford Music Online

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. The OED Online gives you full access to the regularly updated dictionary entries, timelines, authors and quoted works, and historical thesaurus. The OED Online ‘Aspects of English’ is a growing series of features offering routes into the dictionary—as well as topical takes on words (current and historical) via the OED homepage. 

Search Oxford English Dictionary

 

Australia/New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre covers over 175 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues and write or debate an effective argument.

Search the POV Reference Centre

Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research Reviews is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks in 14 subject areas. Mac.Rob students have access to the Linguistics Handbook.Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an argument for how those debates might evolve.

Search Oxford Handbooks Online


The Conversation is an independent, non for profit news service. It's motto is 'academic rigour, journalistic flair' and a it publishes online articles written by academics in a scholarly, yet entertaining style. 

Search The Conversation

Created by Michelle De Aizpurua